The parish church of Sant Feliu is a striking example of Romanesque architecture (the first church
is mentioned in 999), restored in 1929. It is dominated to the south by the ruins of the Rocabruna castle,
in an almost unassailable position; the church was dedicated to Sant Llorenç.
A picturesque and charming village where everything is an architectural monument.
The village is situated at 541 metres altitude and the stone streets and houses are staggered up from the river, which is crossed by two old and well preserved mediaeval bridges. The Romanesque church of San Cristobal de Beget also stands out, built in the 10th century. It is one of the most beautiful Romanesque examples in the area. Inside it houses the famous majesty of the altarpiece of the high altar, from the 12th century; considered to be one of the most beautiful Romanesque carvings preserved in Cataluña.
SANT JOAN DE LES ABADESES
El pont vell
The first bridge over the Ter river dates back to 1138, it was Romanesque in style and with one single arch.
It was damaged by the earthquake the village experienced in 1428 and was rebuilt in the Gothic style,
with slender arcades making it the Gothic bridge with the biggest span of the whole peninsula.
During the republican retreat at the end of the Spanish Civil War it was blown up and in 1976
it was rebuilt with a large Gothic arch and Romanesque arcades.
La vila vella
In the Middle Ages it was known as the Villa Nueva (New Village). Created at the beginning of the 13th century, the design was based on the layout of Roman cities: a plan of parallel and perpendicular streets with a main square as the centre. This layout isn’t very common compared to other mediaeval villages.
El Plaza Mayor (Main Square) was the centre of social life and economic trading. The main streets of the Villa lead off from the square. All around the Villa Vieja (old quarter) you can see the remains of the wall that protected the citizens, which was started in the 12th century and reinforced on several occasions.
It consisted of no fewer than 24 towers and 6 access gates.
The current building dates back to the 12th century. Inside it houses a magnificent sculpture grouping from the 13th century known as Santísimo Misterio (Most Holy Mystery), a work from the transition period between the Gothic and Romanesque styles. There are also alabaster altarpieces. The Gothic cloister of the 15th century replaced the earlier Romanesque one that was destroyed by the earthquake of 1428. The work is completed with the Baroque chapel of los Dolores, with a stunning contemporary carving of la Piedad by the sculptor Josep Viladomat.
La casa de Joan Maragall
Located in calle Mayor of the Villa Vieja, this is the house where the poet Joan Maragall spent his summers.
Another reference point of Maragall is the Fuente del Covilar (Covilar Fountain), next to the house of the same name, on the outskirts of the village, where the poem La Vaca Cega, is found engraved on a stone monolith.
El pont nou
Its construction dates back to the 12th century, on the entry gate there are two dates etched into the stone, that refer to the 16th and 17th centuries. It is found in the centre of the town and the only way to get to la Cerdanya was by crossing this bridge.
El passeig de la font nova
Remodelled in the second half of the 20th century, the first holidaymakers built their houses here.
At the end of the promenade there is a fountain bearing the name, where a bust can be seen of Dr. Robert,
mayor of Barcelona and pioneer of the holiday camps of the time.
A regal promenade, urbanised in the 20s. Tower-mansions typical of the style of the beginning of the century were built around the promenade. For a brief period, one of them was the seat of the government of the Republic and the residence of its president, Dr. Negrín.
In this area you can also enjoy horse riding, or some of the many paths and routes for cycling or trekking.
You can also enjoy the golf course of Camprodon.